New song of encouragement from Cana’s Voice

Jeff Turner

A new song sent to radio stations this morning by Cana’s Voice speaks to those times when, for whatever reason, life feels hopeless and we are tempted to give up instead of persevering in prayer.

“At Midnight” is a song of encouragement written by veteran song writers Jeff Bumgardener, Laura Blankenship and Wayne Haun.  “At Midnight” comes from the Cana’s Voice project Don’t Wanna Miss This. Wayne said he hopes the song’s message helps some to hang on through these challenging times.

The members of Cana’s Voice are known for their solo work. Jody McBayer, TaRanda Green and Doug Anderson. Together, their voices blend for the unique sound heard in the single.

Listen for “At Midnight” along with your favorite Southern Gospel songs throughout the day on Texas Gospel Canada!

George Younce’s Wife Passes Away

George Younce was one of southern gospel music fans’ favorite bass singers of all time.  His wife, Clara Younce passed away last week.  The couple was married in 1954.

Mrs. Younce was preceeded in death by daughters Dana Younce Willis and Tara Younce.

According to her obituary, due to the current constrictions, a private family service was held at Redmon Funeral Home on Saturday, May 16, 2020 with burial at Silver Springs Cemetery.

Please keep this family in your prayers.

StowTown Records Announces Debut Release From The Kramers


Nashville, TN (May 8, 2020) – StowTown Records has announced the release of a brand new recording from one of gospel music’s most gifted musical families, The Kramers. The Hope of All Tomorrows marks the group’s debut recording under the StowTown umbrella. The recording features live orchestrations and was produced by multi-award winning producer/arranger, Wayne Haun.

Since 1995, Scott and Rachel Kramer have enjoyed a full-time ministry that has allowed them the opportunity to share the Gospel throughout North America and internationally. In 2014, they were joined by their daughter Maria. Three years later, son-in-law, Ben Wolfe, became a member of the musical family. Like the Kramers, Ben comes from a rich musical heritage as his father is Gerald Wolfe of Greater Vision.

The Hope of All Tomorrows offers listeners a rich variety and effectively exhibits the group’s ability to present a diverse range of musical stylings that are certain to be embraced by music lovers of all ages. The recording includes moving ballads, as well as upbeat melodies and powerful songs of worship, each complemented by creative and inspiring orchestrations masterfully created by talented producer Wayne Haun. “For many years now, we’ve admired the music production work of Wayne Haun,” states Scott Kramer, “and it’s been a tremendous blessing to have him produce our latest project. Wayne brings a wealth of creative talent to the table, including great musicianship, songwriting, orchestral arranging, vocal production and the incredible ability to write studio charts for many of the world’s greatest musicians. From the beginning, Wayne encouraged our family through every step of the production process. The Hope of All Tomorrows is by far our best family project to date, and it’s largely due to God working in a mighty way through our dear friend, Wayne Haun!”

“When you are in the studio with great songs and talented singers, the creative juices easily flow,” Haun shares, “and it’s all evident from the downbeat of the first song to the final note. I love the musical versatility we created for this project. All four singers are unique musicians individually, but somehow the collaboration just clicks. I think that comes from the years of good training and honing their craft and God-given talent…family harmony in its best form.”

The Hope of All Tomorrows features nine selections, including the debut single “Water Walker,” which is currently climbing up radio airplay charts nationwide. “From the moment we first heard the demo for the song, we knew we wanted to sing it,” Maria Kramer Wolfe shares. “It features an upbeat and catchy melody with a greatly encouraging message! We always look forward to sharing the song live, and we’re excited to say it’s our latest release to radio. Written by Wendy Ferguson and Rachel McCutcheon, ‘Water Walker’ reminds us God is always at work in our lives and, with every test we face, He is strengthening our faith. Our God is always faithful to lead and guide in our journey to become more like Him!”

The Kramers have been presenting the Gospel in song for 25 years. With The Hope of All Tomorrows, the musical team of Scott, Rachel, Maria and Ben soars to new heights.

Former Gaither Vocal Band and Imperials singer Jonathan Pierce dies at 49

Jonathan Pierce, remembered fondly by the Southern Gospel community for his three years with The Imperials as well as three years with the Gaither Vocal Band, died Sunday at the age of 49.

Pierce, whose voice is featured prominently on GVB’s “I Believe In A Hill Called Mt. Calvary,” enjoyed solo success in Contemporary Christian Music after leaving the group. He also did a stint on television as the lead in the show, Ultimate Country Home, on Country Music Television.

Pierce had recently undergone heart surgery. His died from complications.

Please keep his family and friends in your prayers.


Gospel musician with missing fingers adopts son who has same birth defect

Special to Texas Gospel Canada from Daywind Records

Our God is an amazing God. He shows Himself in some of the most unlikely ways. Barry Abernathy of Appalachian Road Show was born with only a thumb and partial index finger on his left hand. He adapted and has a unique three finger style of playing the banjo.

He and his family recently adopted siblings, Tyler and Zoey. Barry’s daughter, Chassady, encountered the children through their daycare. They had been removed from an unsafe home and put in the foster care system. Chassady noted when she saw 4 year old, Tyler, that he had the exact same birth defect as her father.

Barry decided to stop by the daycare as he drove through Nashville, feeling that God was leading him to do so. Tyler looked at him and said, “You’re my dad!” The Abernathys didn’t wrestle with God very long. They quickly decided, Tyler was right. This amazing story was shared on NBC’s, Today. over the weekend! What a beautiful story and a beautiful family! Be sure to read the full story for yourself! Here’s Barry Abernathy and the rest of Appalachian Road Show with “Tribulations.”


Original Hinson member dies

Southern Gospel fans are mourning the death of original Hinsons’ member, Larry Hinson. Mr. Hinson passed away Wednesday April 22.

The Hinsons are a Southern Gospel family group that captivated Southern Gospel fans for decades. They started out in Freedom, CA, in the late 1960’s. The sibling group consisted of Ronny, Yvonne, Kenny and Larry.

Between his two tenures with the group, collectively, he was with the group 17 years.